Scarborough & District Civic Society 

Diary of Events 2017

Civic   Society Meetings are   at 2.30 p.m. in the Library on Vernon   Road   (unless otherwise stated).  Admission £2

Tuesday 9 May

Sheila McGeowan will continue with ‘The History of Seamer ‘ Part II

Tuesday 6 June

Bonnie Lunch at Park Manor Hotel If you haven’t tried one of these pleasant social occasions why not give this one a try. Book now by clicking here

Tuesday 13 June

A Walk in the morning on South Cliff.This will last about one and a half hours.Meet at 10.30am at Esplanade Hotel corner £2

Saturday 17 June

Civic Day is a national celebration of civic pride and we will unveil the Blue Plaque to commemorate Oliver Sarony.11 a.m. at St Martin’s Avenue

Tuesday 11 July

Andrew Clay, the Director of Woodend Creative will give an illustrated talk on “Art on the Liners”

Tuesday 8 August

Our member Gillian Parsons will give a talk on her newly published book “ The Promise You Made”

Thursday 7 September

As part of Heritage Open Days a free guided walk in the Old Town. Start at 2.00pm from Town Hall Gardens

Tuesday 10 October

Graphic designer Patrick Argent will give a talk on ‘Wit and Humour in Graphic Design’

Tuesday 31 October

Afternoon Tea at Hotel Columbus at 3.00pm

Tuesday 14 November

David Fowler and Ren Yaldren will tell the ‘Clock Café Story’

Tuesday 19 December

Christmas Coffee Morning at the Red Lea Hotel There will be a Raffle and a Quiz. Price £3.00 From 10.15 until Noon